48 BUILT IN SIDE BY SIDE REFRIGERATOR

četvrtak, 20.10.2011.

GLASS FRONT REFRIGERATOR FREEZER : REFRIGERATOR FREEZER


GLASS FRONT REFRIGERATOR FREEZER : COLEMAN REFRIGERATED COOLER.



Glass Front Refrigerator Freezer





glass front refrigerator freezer






    refrigerator freezer
  • A refrigerator is a cooling apparatus. The common household appliance (often called a "fridge" for short) comprises a thermally insulated compartment and a heat pump—chemical or mechanical means—to transfer heat from it to the external environment (i.e.





    glass
  • A hard, brittle substance, typically transparent or translucent, made by fusing sand with soda, lime, and sometimes other ingredients and cooling rapidly. It is used to make windows, drinking containers, and other articles

  • a brittle transparent solid with irregular atomic structure

  • furnish with glass; "glass the windows"

  • A thing made from, or partly from, glass, in particular

  • a container for holding liquids while drinking

  • Any similar substance that has solidified from a molten state without crystallizing





    front
  • The forward-facing part of a person's body, on the opposite side to their back

  • the side that is forward or prominent

  • The side or part of an object that presents itself to view or that is normally seen or used first; the most forward part of something

  • be oriented in a certain direction, often with respect to another reference point; be opposite to; "The house looks north"; "My backyard look onto the pond"; "The building faces the park"

  • front(a): relating to or located in the front; "the front lines"; "the front porch"

  • The position directly ahead of someone or something; the most forward position or place











The Ghost of Christmas Past




The Ghost of Christmas Past





This building at the corner of North Main Street (US 1A) and North Avenue in Wake Forest, NC held The Corner Ice Cream Parlor and Coffee Shop for most of my childhood.

The Corner opened in 1979, and closed on October 1, 2006 ... incidentally, the very day my daughter was born, but in previous lives it had been the first location of Steven's Book Shop (which still soldiers on in North Raleigh), a boarding house that served Wake Forest University (when it was still in Wake Forest, NC), a fraternity house (also serving WFU), and originally a general store. The building was built in 1897.

I was born in 1975, so I don't remember any of those previous incarnations, but I do remember The Corner very, very well. It was owned and operated by Kathleen Chandley (who also taught thousands of area kids, including myself, to play the piano) with a good bit of help from her neighbor Ruth Snap.

As soon as I got my driver's license I stated to spend lots of time there, and before long I was an employee there. I worked there off and on until the day I moved to Black Mountain, NC just before I married Rachel. Even on days when I wasn't working, I spent a good bit of time sitting in front of one of those large plate glass windows poking away at my laptop or reading books, watching the world go by ... and from time to time watching a CSX consist roll by on CSX's S Line a few hundred feet behind where I was standing when I took this photo.

Around 1998 or so, the Raleigh News & Observer ran an ad showing people in the area reading the paper in various locations. I was in one of the versions of that ad, sitting on the steps to the left of the picture.

My brother and I even spent a couple of days repairing a section of floor behind the ice cream freezer that had begin to rot in 2004.

The time I spent there talking to the Mrs. Chandley, Ruth and the regulars as well as my friends shaped who I am today.

I miss The Corner. Truth be told, I'm tearing up a bit as I type this. I have so many good memories of the place ...

I'm fortunate enough to have a few mementos from there. After Mrs. Chandley closed the business, she gave me an old Martha Washington refrigerator that had been in one of the storerooms, "my" table and the tree chairs that went with it ... and the old mallet that I used to use to break the ice in the ice cream freezer when I defrosted it.

I've been told that since The Corner closed, the building has been acquired by someone who wanted to refurbish it. Unfortuantely, the Wake Forest Historical Commission is demanding that he spend lots of money jumping through hoops, so the rehabilitation hasn't progressed much past the exterior.













IMG 1825.JPG




IMG 1825.JPG





The kitchen. Still lots of work to be done. The refrigerator/freezer (the tall bit in the middle) will be dark red on the front, as it now is on the sides. The countertops still need to be installed, as well as a silvery closet to the right of the fridge/freezer, a glass-doored cabinet to the left, and white cabinets up above.









glass front refrigerator freezer







Similar posts:

trailer refrigerators

sub zero 632 refrigerator

walk in freezer repair

refrigerators made in the usa

refrigeration safety

sanyo mini refrigerators

amana refrigerator afd2535de

warren southwest refrigeration



- 08:03 - Komentari (0) - Isprintaj - #

<< Arhiva >>

  listopad, 2011  
P U S Č P S N
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            

Listopad 2011 (17)

Dnevnik.hr
Gol.hr
Zadovoljna.hr
Novaplus.hr
NovaTV.hr
DomaTV.hr
Mojamini.tv

48 BUILT IN SIDE BY SIDE REFRIGERATOR

  • 48 built in side by side refrigerator, ge freezer manual, admiral refrigerator recall, kidkraft pink refrigerator, first refrigerator

Linkovi